Understanding Tennessee’s Foreclosure Laws
Tennessee is what is referred to as a nonjudicial foreclosure state. This means that no judicial process is required to foreclose on your house. There will be no lawsuit. No hearings. No opportunity for you to argue your case to stay in your house.
Instead, you will get a notice of foreclosure sale from the mortgage company or the mortgage company’s lawyers. The date on that letter is the date that your home will be sold on the steps of the Shelby County Courthouse. Unless you can catch up on your payments before this date, there is only one foreclosure defense option: bankruptcy.
What To Do When You Get Your 60-Day Notice
Tennessee law requires that you get a 60-day notice of foreclosure. I am Memphis attorney Ben Sissman. For more than 30 years, I have been helping people like you stay in their homes. My suggestion to you: Do not ignore your 60-day notice. The earlier you contact me, the more options I may be able to provide you with.
Tennessee foreclosure law also requires that you get a 30-day notice. If you have received this notice, be aware that it is not too late to take action. In fact, as long as you are still in your home, there is a chance that I will be able to keep you there by helping you file bankruptcy. Do not give up. You are going to be okay.
Free Initial Consultation | Memphis Foreclosure Lawyer
Call 901-730-4958 or send an email to schedule a meeting today.
The law office of Ben Sissman is a debt relief agency that helps people file for bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code.